Click here to see the meta data of this asset.

La manie : Introduction

Le trouble bipolaire en soins primaires

Dans les établissements de soins primaires, de 25 à 50 pour cent environ des patients dépressifs présentent un trouble du spectre bipolaire, soit l'un des sous-types de troubles bipolaires (Das et coll., 2005).

La moitié des troubles bipolaires sont négligés et il s'écoule beaucoup de temps entre le début des symptômes et la pose d'un diagnostic de bipolarité.

La plupart des personnes se présentant avec un trouble du spectre bipolaire dans les établissements de soins primaires ou dans les centres de santé spécialisés reçoivent un diagnostic erroné de trouble unipolaire. C'est-à-dire que ces patients non seulement ne reçoivent pas des soins cohérents avec les lignes directrices mais, de plus, reçoivent des traitements inadéquats et possiblement dangereux, comme un antidépresseur en monothérapie (McIntyre et Konarski, 2004).

Des études récentes de comorbidité mettent en évidence que la plupart des personnes présentant un trouble bipolaire sont affectées, de manière différente d'une personne à l'autre, par des comorbidités psychiatriques ou médicales. Par exemple, les troubles anxieux et l'abus de substances sont des syndromes cooccurrents courants, qui masquent souvent le trouble de l'humeur sous-jacent. 

L'affection médicale comorbide la plus courante du trouble bipolaire est le surpoids/l'obésité qui s'accompagne souvent d'autres caractéristiques du syndrome métabolique (McIntyre et coll., 2006). La comorbidité est associée à une gravité plus importante de la maladie, une diminution de la réponse au traitement et, dans le cas de figure d'une maladie cardiovasculaire, d'une mortalité prématurée. 


Psychiatry in primary care toolkit

A powerful mobile app packed with features that will streamline screening and assessment in primary care.

Download the Toolkit

Frequently asked questions

Click here to see the meta data of this asset.

Mania: Introduction

Bipolar disorder in primary care

Approximately 25 to 50 per cent of all individuals with depression in primary care settings have a bipolar spectrum disorder, one of the subtypes of bipolar disorder (Das et al., 2005).

Bipolar disorder is under-recognized and the amount of time between the onset of symptoms and the establishment of the bipolar diagnosis is protracted.

Most individuals with bipolar spectrum disorders presenting to both primary and specialty health care settings are mistakenly diagnosed as having a unipolar disorder. This means that they do not receive guideline-concordant care and, worse, receive inappropriate and possibly hazardous forms of treatment, such as antidepressant monotherapy (McIntyre & Konarski, 2004).

Recent comorbidity studies indicate that most individuals with bipolar disorder are differentially affected by psychiatric and medical comorbidities. For example, anxiety disorders and substance use disorders are common co-occurring syndromes that frequently obscure the underlying mood disorder.

The most common comorbid medical condition in bipolar disorder is overweight/obesity that often co-presents with other features of the metabolic syndrome (McIntyre et al., 2006). Comorbidity is associated with a greater illness severity, decreased response to treatment and, in the case of cardiovascular disease, premature mortality.


Psychiatry in primary care toolkit

A powerful mobile app packed with features that will streamline screening and assessment in primary care.

Download the Toolkit

Frequently asked questions