Click here to see the meta data of this asset.

Troubles de la personnalité : Problèmes diagnostiques

Faire la différence entre les troubles de la personnalité et les autres troubles psychiatriques

La personne qui a un trouble de la personnalité présente un comportement inadapté profondément ancré dans son caractère même. Pour être considéré comme un trouble de la personnalité, ce comportement inadapté doit être systématique et durer depuis l'adolescence.

Si, d'après les antécédents évoqués par le patient ou sa famille, les difficultés liées à la personnalité ont débuté récemment, le médecin doit envisager un diagnostic psychiatrique autre qu'un trouble de la personnalité.

Les troubles pouvant présenter des traits identiques à ceux des troubles de la personnalité incluent :

  • le trouble dépressif caractérisé
  • l'anxiété généralisée
  • le trouble panique
  • le trouble stress post-traumatique.

Il peut arriver que ces affections fassent ressortir le pire d'une personnalité, ce qui amène à penser que la personne présente un trouble de la personnalité. Celle-ci peut sembler atteinte d'un tel trouble car elle devient plus exigeante, insiste de manière inadéquate, est irritable et réactive au plan émotionnel.

Il est important de préciser si les patients qui semblent avoir un trouble de la personnalité ont effectivement un tel trouble, ou s'ils souffrent, par exemple, d'une dépression réfractaire qui révèle le pire de leur personnalité prémorbide. Nos évaluations cliniques ont tendance à être ponctuelles, tandis que les troubles de la personnalité nécessitent d'appréhender le fonctionnement de la personne de manière longitudinale.

Préciser le début du trouble

C'est le caractère récent des difficultés, plutôt que leur durée prolongée, qui fait penser que ces traits peuvent être le fait d'un trouble psychiatrique plutôt que d'un trouble de la personnalité. 

Certains patients peuvent sembler présenter un trouble de la personnalité quand ils sont confrontés à des facteurs stressants caractérisés qui les mettent en difficulté. Cependant, quand les antécédents recueillis auprès du patient, de sa famille ou de son système de soutien, indiquent que les comportements inadaptés sont limités à la réponse à ces facteurs, il ne s'agit pas d'un trouble de la personnalité. 

Il est important de recueillir aussi les antécédents auprès des membres de la famille ou d'autres personnes proches du patient pour affirmer ou infirmer le caractère chronique des comportements. De la même manière, les patients peuvent aussi décrire qui ils étaient avant que n'apparaisse l'autre trouble psychiatrique (par ex., une dépression, une hypomanie, une anxiété généralisée). Quand les patients présentent une rémission vis-à-vis de cet autre trouble psychiatrique, ils ne semblent plus présenter de trouble de la personnalité.

En cas de dépression, demandez aux patients de décrire leur personnalité avant la dépression. Recueillez les antécédents auprès des membres de la famille ou d'autres personnes proches du patient, qui peuvent préciser si les comportements inadaptés surviennent exclusivement dans le contexte d'une affection psychiatrique autre qu'un trouble de la personnalité, ou s'ils durent depuis l'enfance. N'oubliez pas que peu importe la présentation du caractère, il est peu probable que le diagnostic soit celui d'un trouble de la personnalité s'il n'existe pas de données probantes à l'appui d'une manifestation précoce de ce trouble au cours de la vie.

Il est mieux de reporter l'évaluation de la personnalité jusqu'à ce que le trouble psychiatrique aigu ait été traité avec efficacité.


Psychiatric interviewing series

David Goldbloom and Nancy McNaughton demonstrate clinical interviewing situations.

Psychiatry in primary care toolkit

A powerful mobile app packed with features that will streamline screening and assessment in primary care.

Download the Toolkit

Frequently asked questions

Click here to see the meta data of this asset.

Personality disorders: Diagnostic issues

Differentiating personality disorders from other psychiatric disorders

An individual with a personality disorder has a deep-seated maladaptive style as part of their personality. The maladaptive personality style must be pervasive and long-standing from the teenage years onward.

If, according to the history from the patient or the family, the onset of the personality difficulties is recent, the clinician must consider a psychiatric diagnosis other than a personality disorder.

Disorders that may have similar features as personality disorders include:

  • major depressive disorder
  • generalized anxiety disorder
  • panic disorder
  • posttraumatic stress disorder

Sometimes, these conditions bring out the worst in a person's personality, making it seem that they have a personality disorder. They may appear to have a personality disorder as they become more demanding, inappropriately persistent, emotionally reactive and irritable.

It is important to clarify whether those patients who appear to have a personality disorder do in fact have the disorder, or whether they are experiencing, for example, a refractory depression that is bringing out the worst in their premorbid personality. Our clinical assessments tend to be cross-sectional, whereas personality disorders require a longitudinal review of functioning.

Determine onset

Recent onset, rather than long-standing personality difficulties, suggest that these characteristics may reflect a psychiatric disorder other than personality disorder. 

Some patients may seem to have a personality disorder when they are dealing with characteristic stressors that are difficult for them. However, when the history taken from the patient or the people in the patient's support system indicates that the maladaptive behaviours are limited to a response to the difficult stressors, then it is not a personality disorder.

It is important to have collateral history from family members or significant others about the chronicity of the behaviours. As well, patients can themselves describe what they were like before they developed the other psychiatric disorder (e.g., depression, hypomania, generalized anxiety state). When patients have a remission from this other psychiatric disorder, they no longer appear to have a personality disorder.

In the case of depression, ask the patient to describe their personality prior to the depression. Get a collateral history from family members or significant others who can confirm whether the maladaptive behaviours occur exclusively in the context of a psychiatric condition other than personality disorder, or whether they are long-standing from childhood. Keep in mind that no matter how characterological the presentation, the diagnosis is unlikely to be a personality disorder if there is no supportive evidence from earlier in life.

It is best to defer a personality assessment until the acute psychiatric disorder has been successfully treated.


Psychiatric interviewing series

David Goldbloom and Nancy McNaughton demonstrate clinical interviewing situations.

Psychiatry in primary care toolkit

A powerful mobile app packed with features that will streamline screening and assessment in primary care.

Download the Toolkit

Frequently asked questions