Click here to see the meta data of this asset.

Problèmes liés à l’usage de substances : Évaluation

Établir la gravité du trouble

La sévérité du trouble de l'usage d'une substance se juge sur ses effets dans divers domaines de la vie du patient, parmi lesquels :

  • sa santé physique
  • sa santé mentale et son fonctionnement social
  • sa situation financière
  • ses échecs en termes de responsabilités professionnelles, éducationnelles ou autres.

Intoxication

La surdose est considérée comme la forme la plus sévère d'intoxication et constitue une urgence médicale. Elle s'accompagne généralement d'une altération de la fonction respiratoire, d'une désorientation et d'une diminution du niveau de conscience. La surdose de stimulants est associée à une psychose, des crises d'épilepsie et des arythmies cardiaques.

Sevrage

Le syndrome de sevrage sévère, particulièrement le sevrage alcoolique, est associé au délire (delirium tremens) et se caractérise par des illusions et non par des hallucinations visuelles (c.-à-d. une mauvaise interprétation des stimuli de l'environnement, par exemple en confondant une corde et un serpent). Le sevrage peut aussi se compliquer de crises d'épilepsie.

Le syndrome de sevrage sévère des opioïdes est défini par des symptômes du système nerveux autonome, parmi lesquels la diarrhée, les vomissements, la transpiration, et l'horripilation. Les crises d'épilepsie et le délire ne font pas partie du tableau clinique de sevrage aux opioïdes.

Tabac

Concernant l'usage du tabac, le nombre de cigarettes fumées par jour et le délai entre le réveil et la première cigarette sont des indicateurs du niveau de dépendance. Les personnes qui fument 10 cigarettes ou plus par jour et prennent leur première cigarette de la journée dans les cinq minutes qui suivent le réveil sont considérées comme très dépendantes.

Vérifier les antécédents d'usage d'une substance

La meilleure façon de poser un diagnostic de trouble de l'usage d'une substance est l'entrevue, dont les résultats doivent être corroborés par une tierce partie, et un examen physique ciblé. Ce diagnostic est souvent prospectif et il nécessite de nombreuses consultations pour être confirmé. Les tests de dépistage qui suivent peuvent confirmer celui-ci ou, au contraire, exclure des facteurs pouvant contribuer au tableau clinique du patient.

Mesures de dépistage direct

Test de dépistage urinaire (UDS)

L'urine est un milieu idéal pour réaliser des tests à la recherche d'un abus de drogues. Le consentement du patient est nécessaire, sauf s'il s'agit d'une urgence. Plus la requête est spécifique, plus la drogue a des chances d'être mise en évidence (p. ex., rechercher l'oxycodone plutôt que les opioïdes).

La présence ou l'absence d'une drogue dans un test de dépistage urinaire ne confirme ni n'infirme un diagnostic de trouble de l'usage d'une substance. Selon le temps écoulé depuis le dernier épisode de consommation et la méthode d'analyse en laboratoire, la concentration de l'urine, la contamination du prélèvement et les seuils limites, la drogue peut ne pas être détectée. De ce fait, les résultats du test doivent être interprétés selon le tableau clinique.

Alcootest

Les alcootests sont rarement utilisés en soins primaires. Ils le sont plus couramment en salle d'urgence et dans le cadre de l'application des lois. Ils peuvent cependant être utiles pour prendre en charge les sevrages au cabinet du médecin.

  • Les alcootests détectent les taux d'alcool dans le sang (TAS), mesurés en mg % (mg/100 mL).
  • La concentration alvéolaire d'alcool est étroitement liée au taux d'alcool dans le sang.
  • 1 mg % = 0,2175 mmol/L ou 4,6 mg % = 1 mmol/L.
  • Au Canada, c'est une infraction pénale de conduire avec un TAS ≥ 80 mg %.
  • Chez une personne intolérante à l'alcool, 160 mg % (qui équivalent à 34 mmol/L) est le taux associé à une intoxication cliniquement évidente.

Pour une même quantité d'alcool ingéré, la concentration d'alcool dans le sang peut varier de manière importante selon l'âge d'une personne, sa race, son sexe, son poids, ses prédispositions génétiques et son métabolisme. Du fait que la tolérance de l'alcool est différente d'une personne à l'autre, un alcootest n'établit pas le degré d'intoxication d'une personne. Quelqu'un dont la tolérance est très élevée peut même éprouver des symptômes de sevrage à un TAS qui entraînerait des signes d'intoxication chez des personnes relativement intolérantes.

Signes physiques d'usage d'une substance

Les signes de l'usage d'une substance et les troubles de l'usage d'une substance sont protéiformes et dépendent du type et du nombre de drogues consommées, du temps écoulé depuis le dernier épisode de consommation, et des troubles physiques et psychiatriques concomitants.

Dans le cadre des soins actifs, il est important d'évaluer les signes vitaux, le niveau de conscience et le niveau d'orientation. L'examen physique doit mettre l'accent sur les signes de l'usage de drogues (p. ex., traces d'injection), qui indiquent généralement le mode d'administration. Les médecins doivent corréler l'affaiblissement des facultés observé au niveau apparent de consommation. Ils doivent fortement soupçonner la possibilité que d'autres facteurs (p. ex., un hématome sous-dural) puissent mieux expliquer le tableau clinique, ou du moins y contribuer.

Parmi les signes spécifiques liés à des substances spécifiques :

  • myosis extrême avec altération de l'état de conscience et hypoventilation : utilisation d'opioïdes
  • chair de poule, larmoiement, bâillement et frissons : sevrage d'opioïdes
  • ataxie et dysarthrie : intoxication alcoolique
  • tremblements et transpiration : sevrage alcoolique
  • agitation, anorexie, paranoïa et idées délirantes : intoxication par des stimulants
  • somnolence et augmentation de l'appétit : sevrage de stimulants

Bien qu'il soit utile, l'examen physique ne permet pas de diagnostiquer un trouble de l'usage d'une substance. Il permet surtout de repérer les effets de l'usage d'une substance.

Mesures de dépistage indirect

Alcool

VCM et GGT

La gamma glutamyl transférase (GGT) et le volume cellulaire moyen (VCM) ont tous deux une faible sensibilité pour détecter les problèmes liés à l'alcool. La normalité de leurs valeurs respectives ne permet donc pas d'exclure un tel problème. Ce sont cependant des mesures utiles pour confirmer une suspicion clinique et surveiller la réponse à un traitement. Le VCM se normalise après trois mois, la GGT après quatre semaines.

Tabac

Contrôle du monoxyde de carbone dans l'haleine

Le monoxyde de carbone (CO) présent dans la fumée de cigarette est absorbé par les poumons. Il rentre en compétition avec l'oxygène vis-à-vis de l'hémoglobine, déplace celui-ci en se liant à cette dernière, ce qui réduit la quantité d'oxygène transporté vers les tissus et les organes vitaux. Un détecteur pratique permet de mesurer, au cabinet, la quantité de CO dans l'haleine en parties par million, qui est mesure indirecte du niveau de carboxyhémoglobine sérique (COHb). Cet outil peut être utilisé lors de séances de counseling visant l'abandon du tabac, afin de motiver le patient et de lui montrer les effets des efforts qu'il déploie pour arrêter de fumer, ou pour vérifier la quantité de tabac consommée déclarée par le patient. Les autres sources de CO (p. ex., les gaz d'échappement d'une automobile) et le temps écoulé depuis la dernière cigarette auront une incidence sur les concentrations mesurées. Les personnes qui fument ont une concentration de CO supérieure à 3 ppm.

Explorer le lien entre l'usage d'une substance et le tableau clinique

Conséquences de l'usage d'une substance

À côté de la quantité utilisée, la fréquence et la durée d'utilisation, et le mode d'administration de la substance, il faut étudier les répercussions de cette utilisation sur la vie du patient. Pour poser un diagnostic, explorez prudemment le lien entre l'usage d'une substance et la plainte du patient.

Troubles concomitants

Quand les patients qui abusent d'une substance présentent des symptômes psychiatriques, il peut être impossible dans une présentation aiguë de faire la différence entre un trouble psychiatrique induit par une substance et un trouble concomitant.

Il peut être utile d'explorer le lien temporel entre l'usage d'une substance et les symptômes psychiatriques. Cependant, ce lien ne peut parfois être déterminé qu'après une réduction significative de l'usage d'une substance, voire après des semaines d'abstinence. L'incapacité à déterminer si la maladie mentale est distincte du trouble de l'usage d'une substance n'empêche pas de traiter en même temps le problème de santé mentale et ce trouble.

Éliminer une pathologie organique sous-jacente

Quand un patient se présente avec des symptômes psychiatriques, il est essentiel d'éliminer une pathologie organique qui pourrait reproduire le tableau clinique d'une maladie mentale. Dans le cas de l'usage d'une substance, celle-ci est souvent la cause organique du tableau clinique. Pour faire la différence entre les symptômes relevant d'une pathologie organique, ceux relevant de l'usage d'une substance, et ceux relevant des deux pathologies, il peut être nécessaire de bien observer le patient. Ainsi :

  • Un patient sous la dépendance de l'alcool peut avoir l'air gravement intoxiqué alors même qu'il a un hématome sous-dural. Dans une telle circonstance, le TAS est bien inférieur à ce que l'on aurait pu penser.
  • Un patient qui se présente avec des hallucinations visuelles peut avoir une pathologie intracérébrale ou un trouble psychotique, ou être en sevrage alcoolique.
  • Un patient qui prend de la cocaïne et perd du poids peut avoir un cancer sous-jacent.

Autres questions pour distinguer les étiologies organiques des étiologies psychiatriques

  • Les signes et les symptômes présentés par ce patient peuvent-ils être expliqués par la prise d'une drogue?
  • Les signes et les symptômes peuvent-ils être causés par le sevrage d'une substance?
  • Les antécédents de consommation cadrent-ils avec le tableau clinique?

Determining the patient's motivation for change

Counselling a patient who is using substances about treatment options is not a good use of a primary care provider's time if the patient is not ready to change. The clinician should match the intervention to the patient's stage of change (see Table 6.1: Matching interventions to stage of change). Assessing the patient's motivation involves three components:

Assess importance

Ask the patient:

  • "Given everything else going on in your life right now, how important is it for you to stop drinking/smoking/using drugs? Use a 10-point scale where 1 is ‘not at all important' and 10 is ‘the most important thing in life.'"

Assess confidence

Ask the patient:

  • "How confident are you that you will be successful in your attempt to quit/cut down, on a scale of 1 to 10?"

Assess readiness

Finally, ask the patient:

  • "How ready are you, on a scale of 1 to 10, to take steps toward changing your behaviour?"

Patients who rate high importance, confidence and readiness are more likely to succeed in changing their substance use. Assessing these variables allows the clinician to target motivational interventions to the variables that the patient rates low. Exploring risks and rewards of substance use can create discrepancy and increase the patient's readiness to change.

Follow any of the questions with: "What would increase your importance, confidence or readiness just a little bit, from 6 to 7, for example?" This strategy can identify potential targets for intervention.


Psychiatric interviewing series

David Goldbloom and Nancy McNaughton demonstrate clinical interviewing situations.

Psychiatry in primary care toolkit

A powerful mobile app packed with features that will streamline screening and assessment in primary care.

Download the Toolkit

Frequently asked questions

Click here to see the meta data of this asset.

Substance use problems: Assessment

Determining the severity of the disorder

The severity of the substance use disorder is judged by its effects on various domains of the person's life. These include:

  • physical health
  • mental health and social functioning
  • financial impacts
  • failures in occupational, educational or other role responsibilities

Intoxication

The most severe form of intoxication is considered an overdose and is a medical emergency. It usually involves respiratory compromise, disorientation and a reduced level of consciousness. Overdose with stimulants is associated with psychosis, seizures and cardiac arrhythmias.

Withdrawal

Severe withdrawal, especially from alcohol, is associated with delirium (delirium tremens) and is characterized by illusions, not visual hallucinations (i.e., misinterpreting environmental stimuli, for example, by mistaking a rope for a snake). Withdrawal may be complicated by seizures as well.

Severe opioid withdrawal is characterized by autonomic symptoms including diarrhea, vomiting, sweating and pilo-erection. Seizures or delirium are not part of the opioid withdrawal syndrome.

Tobacco

For tobacco use, the number of cigarettes smoked per day and how quickly someone smokes after waking is a guide to the level of dependence. People who smoke 10 or more cigarettes per day and have their first cigarette within five minutes of waking are considered severely dependent.

Verifying the substance use history

Substance use disorders are best diagnosed by a thorough interview corroborated by a third party and a focused physical examination. The diagnosis is often made prospectively and requires repeated visits. The following screening tests can support a diagnosis or exclude potential contributors to a patient's presentation.

Direct screening measures

Urine drug screening (UDS)

Urine is an ideal matrix to test for drugs of abuse. Patient consent is necessary except in emergencies. The more specific the request, the more likely the drug will be detected (e.g., oxycodone rather than opioid).

The presence or absence of a drug in UDS does not rule in or out a diagnosis of a substance use disorder. Depending on the time lapsed since last use and on laboratory method, urine concentration, contamination and cut-off thresholds, the drug may not be detected. Therefore, UDS results must be interpreted in light of the clinical presentation.

Breathalyser

Breathalysers are rarely used in primary care. They are used more commonly in emergency room and law enforcement settings. However, they can be a useful tool in office-based withdrawal management.

  • Breathalysers detect blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in mg% (mg/100mL).
  • Alveolar concentration of alcohol correlates closely to blood alcohol level.
  • 1 mg% = 0.2175 mmol/L or 4.6 mg% =1 mmol/L.
  • It is a criminal offence in Canada to drive with a BAC of ≥ 80 mg%.
  • 160 mg% (equivalent to 34 mmol/L) is associated with clinically obvious intoxication in a non-tolerant individual.

Blood alcohol concentration can vary substantially for the same amount of alcohol depending on a person's age, race, gender, weight, genetic predisposition and metabolic rate. Because of differing alcohol tolerance among individuals, a breathalyser does not establish the person's level of intoxication. Someone with significantly high tolerance can experience withdrawal symptoms even at BAC that would cause relatively intolerant individuals to exhibit sign of intoxication.

Physical signs of substance use

The signs of substance use and substance use disorders are protean and depend on the type and number of drugs used, time since use and co-occurring psychiatric and physical disorders.

In acute care settings, it is important to assess vital signs, level of consciousness and level of orientation. The physical exam should focus on stigmata of drug use (e.g., "track marks"), usually related to the route of admission. Clinicians should correlate the observed level of impairment with the apparent level of consumption. They should have a high index of suspicion that other factors (i.e., subdural hematoma) might better account for or contribute to the clinical picture.

Specific signs related to specific substances include:

  • pinpoint pupils with altered levels of consciousness and hypoventilation: opioid use
  • goosebumps, lacrimation, yawning and chills: opioid withdrawal
  • ataxia and dysarthria: alcohol intoxication
  • tremors and sweats: alcohol withdrawal
  • restlessness, anorexia, paranoia and delusions: intoxication with stimulants
  • somnolence and increased hunger: withdrawal from stimulants

The physical examination is helpful but not diagnostic of a substance use disorder. It is more useful in determining the effects of substance use.

Indirect screening measures

Alcohol

MCV and GGT

Gamma glutamyl transferase (GGT) and mean cell volume (MCV) both have low sensitivity for detecting alcohol problems; thus, a normal value should not be used as evidence to rule out an alcohol problem. Nonetheless, these are useful measures to confirm clinical suspicion and to monitor treatment response. MCV normalizes after three months and GGT normalizes after four weeks.

Tobacco

Breath carbon monoxide monitor

The carbon monoxide (CO) found in cigarette smoke is absorbed via the lungs. CO competes with oxygen for hemoglobin, binding and displacing it, which results in less oxygen delivery to tissue and vital organs. A convenient office detector measures breath CO in parts per million as an indirect measure of serum carboxyhemoglobin level (COHb). It can be used in smoking cessation counselling as a motivator to illustrate the impact of the patient's cessation efforts or to verify self-reported smoking quantity. Other sources of CO (e.g., automobile exhaust) and time from last cigarette will affect readings. CO levels of greater than 3ppm are found in people who smoke.

Exploring the relationship between substance use and presentation

Consequences of substance use

In addition to quantifying the amount, frequency, route and duration of use, it is important to explore the consequences of substance use in the person's life. To make the diagnosis, cautiously explore the link between substance use and the presenting complaint.

Concurrent disorders

When patients who are abusing substances present with psychiatric symptoms, it may not be possible in the acute situation to differentiate between a substance-induced psychiatric disorder and a concurrent disorder.

Exploring the temporal relationship between substance use and psychiatric symptoms may be helpful. However, sometimes the relationship between substance use and psychiatric symptoms can only be determined after substance use is significantly reduced or after weeks of abstinence. The inability to determine whether the mental illness is distinct from the substance use disorder does not preclude treating the mental health issues concurrently with the substance use disorder.

Ruling out underlying organic pathology

When a patient presents with psychiatric symptoms, it is critical to rule out an organic condition that may mimic a mental illness. In the case of substance use, the substance itself is often the organic cause for the presentation. To differentiate symptoms that can be attributed to organic pathology, or substance use, or both, it may be necessary to observe the patient. For example:

  • A patient who is dependent on alcohol may appear to be acutely intoxicated when in fact the patient has a subdural hematoma. In these circumstances, the BAC is much lower than expected.
  • A patient with visual hallucinations may have intra-cerebral pathology, psychotic illness or alcohol withdrawal.
  • A patient who uses cocaine and is experiencing weight loss may have underlying cancer.

Other questions about organic versus psychiatric etiology

  • Can a drug cause the signs and symptoms this patient is exhibiting?
  • Can the signs and symptoms be attributed to withdrawal from a substance?
  • Does the history of the amount consumed fit with the clinical presentation?

Determining the patient's motivation for change

Counselling a patient who is using substances about treatment options is not a good use of a primary care provider's time if the patient is not ready to change. The clinician should match the intervention to the patient's stage of change (see Table 6.1: Matching interventions to stage of change). Assessing the patient's motivation involves three components:

Assess importance

Ask the patient:

  • "Given everything else going on in your life right now, how important is it for you to stop drinking/smoking/using drugs? Use a 10-point scale where 1 is ‘not at all important' and 10 is ‘the most important thing in life.'"

Assess confidence

Ask the patient:

  • "How confident are you that you will be successful in your attempt to quit/cut down, on a scale of 1 to 10?"

Assess readiness

Finally, ask the patient:

  • "How ready are you, on a scale of 1 to 10, to take steps toward changing your behaviour?"

Patients who rate high importance, confidence and readiness are more likely to succeed in changing their substance use. Assessing these variables allows the clinician to target motivational interventions to the variables that the patient rates low. Exploring risks and rewards of substance use can create discrepancy and increase the patient's readiness to change.

Follow any of the questions with: "What would increase your importance, confidence or readiness just a little bit, from 6 to 7, for example?" This strategy can identify potential targets for intervention.


Psychiatric interviewing series

David Goldbloom and Nancy McNaughton demonstrate clinical interviewing situations.

Psychiatry in primary care toolkit

A powerful mobile app packed with features that will streamline screening and assessment in primary care.

Download the Toolkit

Frequently asked questions