Click here to see the meta data of this asset.

Problèmes liés à l’usage de substances : Introduction

Alcoolisme latent

L'alcoolisme latent n'est pas un diagnostic du DSM, mais cette expression est couramment utilisée pour faire référence à une consommation d'alcool supérieure à celle fixée par les directives de consommation d'alcool à faible risque. Remarquez qu'il existe des variations internationales importantes quant à la consommation considérée comme standard et la définition du risque.

L'alcoolisme latent peut avoir des conséquences sociales, physiques et psychologiques, mais ne répond pas aux critères du DSM relativement à l'abus et la dépendance.

Troubles concomitants

Les troubles concomitants sont définis par la présence simultanée d'un trouble psychiatrique et d'un problème lié à l'usage d'une substance. Il se distingue ici d'un « double diagnostic », qui renvoie à la double présence d'un trouble psychiatrique et d'une déficience intellectuelle. Dans certains pays, parmi lesquels les États-Unis, le terme « double diagnostic » est utilisé dans le cas de l'existence d'un trouble concomitant. 

Intoxication et sevrage

L'intoxication et le sevrage sont définis par l'apparition d'un syndrome réversible propre à la substance, due à l'ingestion récente de la substance ou à l'exposition récente à celle-ci (intoxication), ou à l'arrêt ou la réduction de l'usage d'une substance (sevrage).

  • Intoxication : Modifications comportementales ou psychologiques inadaptées et cliniquement significatives, dues aux effets de la substance sur le système nerveux central. Ces modifications peuvent inclure : agressivité, instabilité de l'humeur, altérations cognitives, altération du jugement, altération du fonctionnement social ou professionnel. Ces modifications apparaissent pendant ou peu après l'usage de la substance.
  • Sevrage : Altération ou souffrance cliniquement significative du fonctionnement social, professionnel ou autres fonctionnements importants, due à l'absence de la substance.

Les symptômes ne sont pas dus à une affection médicale générale et ne sont pas mieux expliqués par un autre trouble mental.

Accoutumance

Le terme « accoutumance » fait référence au besoin d'augmenter fortement les quantités de substance pour parvenir à l'intoxication (ou à l'effet désiré), ou à un effet visiblement moins intense de la même quantité de substance en utilisation prolongée.

Dépendance à plusieurs substances

Le diagnostic de polydépendance à des substances est posé quand quelqu'un utilise trois substances, voire plus (en excluant la caféine et le tabac), et répond aux critères de la dépendance. Les problèmes ressentis par le patient ne s'expliquent par l'usage d'aucune substance prise isolément.


Related Portico Network topics

Fundamentals of Addiction: Introduction (Addiction Toolkit)

Psychiatry in primary care toolkit

A powerful mobile app packed with features that will streamline screening and assessment in primary care.

Download the Toolkit

Frequently asked questions

Click here to see the meta data of this asset.

Substance use problems: Introduction

Problem drinking

Problem drinking is not a DSM diagnosis but is commonly used to refer to alcohol consumption that is greater than low-risk drinking guidelines. Note that there are significant international variations in standard drink size and in the definition of risk.

Problem drinking involves potential social, physical or psychological consequences, but DSM criteria for a substance use disorder is not met.

Concurrent disorder

A concurrent disorder is a co-occurring psychiatric and substance use disorder. It is distinct from "dual diagnosis," which refers to the presence of both a psychiatric disorder and a developmental delay. In some countries, including the United States, dual diagnosis is the term used for a concurrent disorder. 

Intoxication and withdrawal

Intoxication and withdrawal are characterized by the development of a reversible substance-specific syndrome due to recent ingestion of or exposure to a substance (intoxication) or cessation of or reduction in use of a substance (withdrawal).

  • Intoxication: Clinically significant maladaptive behavioural or psychological changes that are due to the effect of the substance on the central nervous system. These changes can include belligerence, mood lability, cognitive impairment, impaired judgment, impaired social or occupational functioning. The changes develop during or shortly after using the substance.
  • Withdrawal: Clinically significant distress or impairment in social, occupational or other important areas of functioning due to the absence of the substance.

The symptoms are not due to a general medical condition and are not better accounted for by another mental disorder.

Tolerance

Tolerance refers to the need for greatly increased amounts of the substance to achieve intoxication (or the desired effect) or to a markedly diminished effect with continued use of the same amount of the substance.

Polysubstance dependence

Polysubstance dependence is diagnosed when a person uses three or more substances (with the exception of caffeine and tobacco) and meets criteria for dependence. No single substance accounts for the problems experienced by the patient.


Related Portico Network topics

Fundamentals of Addiction: Introduction (Addiction Toolkit)

Psychiatry in primary care toolkit

A powerful mobile app packed with features that will streamline screening and assessment in primary care.

Download the Toolkit

Frequently asked questions