Click here to see the meta data of this asset.

Mettre en place l’auto-assistance avec soutien. Étape 1 : Évaluation

 

La première étape de l'AAS consiste à juger de la pertinence de cette intervention pour le patient, en évaluant au plan clinique si celui-ci est prêt pour une auto-assistance et en déterminant la sévérité des symptômes.

Un fournisseur de soins primaires voulant déterminer si l'AAS est adéquate, pour un patient dépressif par exemple, peut se fier à son jugement clinique, mais aussi trouver utile de soumettre le patient à une évaluation par échelles abrégées comme le Questionnaire de santé du patient (PHQ-9). Le PHQ-9 permet de classer les symptômes de dépression en légers, modérés ou graves. C'est en effet leur sévérité qui détermine le choix thérapeutique :

  • Si les symptômes de dépression sont légers ou très modérés, l'AAS est une intervention appropriée à elle seule.
  • Si les symptômes de dépression se situent entre modérés plus et graves, l'AAS peut être adéquate en thérapie d'appoint de traitements comme les antidépresseurs ou la TCC.

Même quand le traitement comporte une TCC ou des médicaments, enseigner au patient des compétences d'auto-assistance peut être utile pour l'engager dans un processus de guérison active. Certains patients sont si déprimés à un moment donné qu'ils sont incapables de se concentrer sur l'apprentissage ou la mise en pratique de ces compétences. Il est cependant important de ne pas systématiquement adhérer à l'auto-évaluation pessimiste d'un patient, mais plutôt de l'encourager à lire un court passage du manuel recommandé.

Si le patient a atteint un degré significatif de guérison grâce au traitement, l'AAS peut alors être utile pour maintenir cette guérison et prévenir les rechutes. 

Traduction tirée et adaptée de : Dan Bilsker and J. Ellen Anderson, Supported self- management for common mental health problems, Psychiatry in Primary Care (CAMH, 2011)


Related Portico Network topics

Cognitive behaviour therapy

Psychiatry in primary care toolkit

A powerful mobile app packed with features that will streamline screening and assessment in primary care.

Download the Toolkit

Frequently asked questions

Click here to see the meta data of this asset.

Supported self management: Step 1: Assess

The first step of SSM is to evaluate the patient's suitability for this intervention. It involves making a clinical judgment about the patient's readiness for self-management and determining the severity of symptomatology.

A primary care provider who wants to determine whether SSM is appropriate for a patient with depression, for example, could rely on clinical judgment, but might also find it helpful to administer brief scales such as the Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ-9).  The PHQ-9 categorizes depressive symptomatology as mild, moderate or severe. The severity determines the treatment choice:

  • If the depression falls in the mild or low-moderate range, then SSM is appropriate as a stand-alone intervention.
  • If the depression falls in the high-moderate to severe range, then SSM may be appropriate as an adjunctive intervention, along with treatments such as antidepressant medication or CBT.

Even when treatment involves CBT or medication, it can be helpful to engage the patient in active recovery by teaching self-management skills. Certain patients may be so depressed at a particular time that they are unable to focus on learning or applying these skills. However, it is important not to automatically accept a patient's pessimistic self-evaluation, but rather to encourage the patient to read a small section of the recommended workbook.

If a patient has achieved a significant degree of recovery through treatment, SSM may be useful in maintaining recovery and planning relapse prevention.


Related Portico Network topics

Cognitive behaviour therapy

Psychiatry in primary care toolkit

A powerful mobile app packed with features that will streamline screening and assessment in primary care.

Download the Toolkit

Frequently asked questions